February 2015 Executive Committee Minutes


Dean: Dawn Riske Sub-Dean: Mark Scholtz
Treasurer: Absent – Dennis York Secretary: Cathy Cassy


Executive Committee Present: Cathy Bolduan, Phillip Brunswick, Stephen Eros, Brent Johnson, Suzanne Manelli, Andrew Peters, Bill Wade, Jeff White, Mary Beth Wittry, Rene Zajner

Absent: Horst Buchholz (excused), Nancy Barbee

Call to Order: Dean Dawn Riske called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

Review of the Minutes: Suzanne Manelli made a motion to accept the minutes of the January 5th meeting with two corrections: Phillip’s name is spelled with two “l’s”; Bill Wade’s name should not be listed on the Avis Blewett Committee. The motion was seconded by Jeff White and was unanimously approved

Treasurer’s Report: No treasurer’s report this evening.

Dean’s Report: Dawn discussed the idea of setting up a finance committee as was discussed at previous meeting.

Sub-Dean Report: The New Program Committee has been organized and includes: Mark Scholtz, Andy Peters, Brent Johnson, Bill Stein, Mary Beth Wittry, David Erwin. The Avis Blewett Committee will present suggestions at next meeting. Suggestions from the floor included: David Robertson, Amy Kaiser, Sarah Bryan Miller.

Registrar: One new member: Tim Jansen. Gateway Digital was able to get the almost 2000 convention flyers out in a day and a half. OPUS deadline is February 15 for March. Extra directories are available.

OPUS: February 15 is deadline to submit articles for March. The March focus will be Donors for the Convention and the used Music Sale.

Social Media and Web Report: A new events calendar has been implemented. Reminder: Rene can post photos and Facebook and web page can be used for posting events notices.

North Central Regional Steering Committee Update: Andy thanked Brent for getting the convention flyers out so quickly and efficiently. The Early Bird registration fee dates will remain as posted and not extended. Registrations are at 31 and hotel rooms booked are at 10. The TAO will have a full color page ad promoting the convention.

Old Business: Nominating Committee includes: Chairman – Jeff White, Nanette Tornblom, Stephen Mager.

New Business:

-The Avis Blewett Award Committee includes: Mark Scholtz, Philip Brunswick, Horst Buchholz.

-Wichita AGO chapter purchased an ad in our Convention program book. Kansas City is sponsoring an event. $100 will be sent, as per voted on at the January 5th meeting, to Valparaiso and Wichita for their POE.

Dawn also contacted Wichita with gentle reminder on working together and checking on timing when planning major events so they don’t conflict with another chapter’s events.

-Brent reported on the Chapter Banner: 3 x 5 vertical banner. Several mock-ups were presented. The decision includes: a 3 x 5 vertical banner, burgundy with gold fringe. Purchase should also include pole with cross bar, a stand, and have the ability to be collapsible. Both the stand and the pole should be gold in color.

-There will be a change of location for the March 14th program with Dennis Sparger and the Bach Passion due to the St. Patrick’s Day Run in downtown.   There will be a short Executive Committee meeting before the lecture at 8:40am to finalize committee nominations and Avis Blewett Award details. The location will be at Holy Trinity Lutheran Church at 2030 Union Road. Please give Jeff White any AV needs that Dennis Sparger will need for the evening.

Next meetings:

*Saturday, March 14th at 8:40 am – Holy Trinity Lutheran Church – 2030 Union Rd – St. Louis, MO 63125

Meeting, Breakfast and Dennis Sparger.

*Monday, April 20 at 5:30 p.m. at Bethel Lutheran Church.

Submitted by:

Cathy Cassy

Executive Committee Secretary

Upcoming Events:

Official Documents & Dates to Remember:

March 1, 2015 – Deadline for Avis Blewett Committee nominations and possible other awardees to Executive Committee

March 1, 2015 – Nominating committee to present candidates for Executive Committee.

March 15, 2015- Deadline to enter Voting information for April issue of OPUS

April 20th, 2015 – Stephen Mager at Bethel Lutheran –“Taking the Mystery Out of Composing”

April 27th, 2015 – Last year’s Voting Deadline to have all details completed by May 18th ceremony

May 4th, 2015 – Chenaults at Kirkwood Presbyterian

May 18, 2015 – Award ceremony and General Meeting at Historic Trinity Lutheran in Soulard

June 1, 2015 – State on-line Registration for Charter Number is due.

June 22-24 – 2015 Northwest Regional AGO Conference

June 30, 2015 – Refile Tax Exempt forms 990-N

2016 – Review of Operating Procedures for 2017.