2008 September Executive CommitteeMinutes

Posted on



Monday, September 15, 2008

7:00 p.m., Trinity Presbyterian Church

6800 Washington Ave.

Saint Louis, MO 63130


Dean: Charles (Chuck) Peery

Sub-Dean: Henry Evans

Secretary: Dr. Bill Wade, CAGO

Executive Committee:

Stephen Mager, Ken Reuter, Regina Morris, Cathy Cassy, Bill Stein

Committee Directors:

Wayne King, Newsletter Editor;


Fr. Joseph Havrilka*, Rene Zajner*, Jeff White, Brent Johnson, Shawn Portell, Al Black, Directory Editor; Treasurer/Registrar: *Dennis York; Auditor: *Denis Doelling

A quorum of 7 is required to conduct business. There were 9 members present.

Call to Order: CP called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM

Review of Minutes: Minutes of August 18, 2008 meeting were accepted (RM motioned to accept, BS seconded; Motion carried by voice vote).

Treasurer.s Report:


Dean.s Report:

Reminder of the Vaughan Williams Celebration on 9/8/08 in observance of the 50th anniversary of the composer.s death. Choirs of Second Presbyterian Church and Christ Church Cathedral, along with the Clarion Brass will be featured. Andrew Peters will host at Second Presbyterian Church at 4:00 PM.

Sub-Dean.s/Program Committee Report:

HE reported that the Dr. Charles Tompkins November Lecture on 11/10/08 at Washington University, Graham Chapel has been confirmed. We will ask that the program begin at 8:00 PM due to the logistics of getting from the dinner location to Graham Chapel. [Ed. note . since the meeting, I have been advised that the time is confirmed a 8:00 PM and the location for the dinner will be at 6:30 PM at Bethel Lutheran Church, 7001 Forsyth, Saint Louis, MO 63105.]

Auditor Report: No Report

Committee and Special Services Reports:

OPUS Newsletter: Deadline for the October issue is 9/26/08

Education: No Report

Historian: No Report

Placement: No Report

Professional Concerns: No Report

Registrar/Membership: No Report

Directory/Mailing: The directory was mailed on 9/15/08.

Advertising: No Report

Certification: No Report

Historian: No Report

Chapter Photographer: No Report

Telephone Committee: RM indicated interest in continuing the Telephone Committee

Website: CP spoke to Lisette Christensen and asked her to submit a bid for expanding the and updating the website. She is currently paid $34.95 per month. Some ideas for improvement are to increase the interactivity of the site, provide a digital archive of the Chapter documents, post minutes, serve as a dynamic link from the Chapter to its membership.

Young Organist Committee: Dr. Marie Kremer, chair of the Young Organist Committee, has resigned and is currently looking for a new chair for the committee. Members of the committee include Henry Glass, John Romeri, Pat Partridge, Martha Schaeffer, Darlene Reiner, and Cathy Bouldan, Barbara Raedeke, Mary Hitchcock-Reinhart, CAGO, Darlene Reiner

Unfinished Business:

The International Year of the Organ brochure for chapter related events costs were investigated by CP. Using VistaPrint, the cost for 500 brochures is $217 and for 250 brochures, the cost would be $112. It was agreed that an initial order of 250 brochures would be ordered and would be distributed in a variety of methods and venues.

New Business:

The November Executive Committee meeting will be held on November 3, 2008 at Trinity Presbyterian Church at 7:00 PM.

BW brought up the need for an aggressive push to encourage AGO certification. HE indicated that he would commit to working on the AGO Service Playing Certificate. We will encourage other members to join in a group effort to expand the number of AGO certified organists.

There is an open invitation to visitors to any of the meetings and programs of the Chapter. If visitors wish to join us for dinner, they are responsible for that expense.

CP discussed the need to have a digital format for the AGO membership. BW agreed to work with him to get that accomplished.

SM will be preparing a CD and MP3 recording of the AGO/Wicks program recorded last year.

RM agreed to reactivate the telephone committee to call the membership prior to the scheduled monthly meetings.

Adjournment: 7:59 PM

(KR motioned, HE seconded; Motion carried by voice vote.)

Minutes submitted by Bill Wade, CAGO